bunny fools’ banana bundt

April 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

terribunnyfools_phone_S

Bunny Fools. A combination April Fools, Easter, and Spring kick off party held at Terri’s strawberry house. Kids and adults donning long ears, fuzzy tails and other festive decoration. I had very ripe bananas on deck to try another banana bread recipe in my never ending search for banana bread perfection–I am not there yet. But I wanted to make something more interesting for the party. Chocolate and banana came to mind. I found a bundt recipe or two online for quantity reference and referred to my banana bread recipes. I made it less cake-like since I didn’t want a super sweet frosted cake (I never do). Good thing because there were “a hundred” cupcakes, of all sorts, with frosting piled high.
bana_chc_mrbl_1
bunnyfools_composite

I only was able to see the interior texture at the party after a few slices were taken. I noticed the same dense moist section at the top that I’ve been getting with my banana breads too (at the bottom). I think I need to lower my moisture level–but I want it to be moist and have an intense banana flavor so I had been going with a more equals more philosophy. I used 2 cups of mashed bananas in this bundt. Well, that has consequences, obviously. In the recipe below I lowered the amount to one and one-half cups.

For the chocolate marble part I wanted to mix in a small amount ganache to make it a double chocolate marble, but time got the best of me.  Though I did use  very good cocoa powder. It was a mix of Green & Blacks Organic Cocoa and Ghirardelli Sweet Ground Chocolate & Cocoa, both Dutch process. The Green & Blacks is good stuff!

bana_table_s

So with the lower amount of sugar, more banana, and lack frosting or glaze this is more of a quick bread style loaf instead of a cake which typically has about a 1:1 ratio of flour to sugar. At the party I was told that the bundt was good, very moist, “…how did you do that, I can never do that?” It was just as I wanted it to be: moist, flavorful, with impressive marbling and it released from the pan without any issues. Victory. I will work out my dense zone in the banana bread, which should translate to any banana cake. It could be that I need to let it bake for 5 minutes longer but I am not a fan of overly browned cakes and breads.

No time for proper photos. I also made a quinoa salad (fennel, argula with herbed meyer lemon vinaigrette) for the party and had no time to take any photos of the full bundt. Though, I did get a snapshot at the table. Luckily, because there were “hundreds” of other baked goods there, it wasn’t finished off, so I was able to bring home a small chunk. That’s what is in the shot above/below–leftovers.
bana_chc_mrbl_2

Banana Chocolate Marble Bundt

1-1/2 C very ripe bananas, mashed (approx 3-4)
3 C all purpose flour
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1-1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 C unsalted butter, room temperature
1-1/2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 C sour cream (or plain yogurt)
1/3 C cocoa powder, dutch process

Instructions:

Prep: Preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease a 12-cup bundt or ring pan

Mash bananas with a fork in a medium bowl. In a separate small bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Mix: In a stand mixing bowl or large bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time. Add in sour cream and vanilla extract.

Add half of the flour mixture to the wet mix and stir to combine. Add in the remaining flour mixture. Then fold in  or slowly mix in the mashed bananas just until incorporated.

Remove about 2 cups of batter. In a separate bowl(reuse that banana bowl) mix cocoa powder into that 2 cups of batter.

Pour 2/3 of the plain batter into the bundt pan, add HALF of the cocoa batter to randomly on top of plain batter. I do a blob at 12-3-6-9 o’clock. Cover the cocoa batter completely with the remaining plain batter. Add the remaining cocoa batter on top, in offset locations from the last layer. Gently pull a spoon or small spatula though the batter in a zig zag the batter gently to swirl.

Bake: Bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour, Checking with a toothpick at 50 minutes. If the toothpick comes out clean remove pan from the oven and place pan on cooling rack for 15 minutes. Turn out cake by inverting it onto the cooling rack.

I find the best flavor if cake rests at least 4 hours or overnight.

Note: OK, maybe I’ll add 1/3 C more sugar next time

photos [slideshow]

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading bunny fools’ banana bundt at edc*.

meta

