(all) in the pan

December 16, 2010 § 2 Comments

IMG_2937c

Baking continued on the weekend. I had a couple of parties on Saturday night and I felt that these gatherings needed cake.

I’ve made this apple spice cake before. It is a good recipe from Food and Wine mag from almost a decade ago. Though I’ve made it before, I forgot a small fact. Nope, I didn’t forget an ingredient this time. It was the nuances about the bundt cake pan. This cake is too chunky for the sculpted pan I own and the deep grooves have caused problems in the past. The cake may have better release results in the smoother style bundt pan. The cake releases, in general, were fairly good. One was better the the other. But a few apples did remain stuck to the pan for both. Maybe I should use shortening and flour pan instead of butter and flour. But I really think with chunky ingredient cakes (in this case, apples and large nuts) it would be wiser to use a smooth tube or coffee cake pan. I have neither. Yet.

Ingredients of note for this spice cake: I did use the official Calvados, the real apple brandy, from Pays d’Auge, Normandy, France. With many recipes calling for spices I tend to increase the amount– up to about double, but this time I did not. Reason one: Vietnamese Cinnamon, this stuff is strong. Very strong. Recently I picked this up at Rainbow Grocery Coop, in the bulk section. It maybe available in Asian grocery stores. Reason two: freshly grated nutmeg. This is a great smell and potent as well.  I am thinking about giving the grated nutmeg a whirl in the electric spice grinder to make it a bit finer for future recipes. Flour: Bob’s Red Mill Organic All Purpose Sugar: Because I used raw cane sugar, which naturally has larger crystals than regular granulated sugar, I decided to use the food processor to make the sugar finer.

There are no photos of either finished cake, dusted with powdered sugar to cover the missing chunks and cracks, which I did on location.

Lots of thumbs up from the festive cake eaters.

apple spice cake

Listening to:
The Power Out – Electrelane
then Electrelane seeded Pandora and last.fm stations. Woman who rock!

Recipe after the jump…

Apple Spice Cake
Gary Peese, via Food and Wine.

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg  [edc: use fresh, if you can!]
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 sticks (1/2 pound) unsalted butter, softened
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1/4 cup Calvados or other brandy
1 teaspoon baking soda mixed with 1 tablespoon warm water
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 Red Delicious apples—halved, cored and sliced 1/2 inch thick  [edc: I used 2 small Granny smith and 2 small Braeburn apples]
1 cup coarsely chopped pecans

[edc: **anyone wanting a non-alcohol version of this cake, just substitute apple juice for the Calvados brandy]

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Butter and flour a 10-inch tube pan. Combine the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and salt.
2. In a bowl, beat the butter until creamy. Beat in the sugar. Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition. Add the Calvados, baking soda mixture and vanilla. Stir in the flour mixture, apples and pecans just until incorporated.
3. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 1 hour, or until the cake is deep brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let the cake cool completely, then turn it out onto a plate. Cut the cake into wedges and serve.

Serve With
Mascarpone cream.  [edc: I did not do any extra topping]

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to (all) in the pan

  • Babygirl says:

    Very nice post.. I enjoyed reading it.

  • Madelyn says:

    YUM! I’ve never heard of Vietnamese cinnamon. I’m totally intrigued. It’s unlikely that i can find it in Central Oregon, but the culinary inclinations of this area have been surprising me, so it’s possible I’ll get lucky! Thanks for including the recipe EdC. =)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading (all) in the pan at edc*.

meta

